the Canadian Peace Initiative :: a Campaign to Establish a Federal Department of Peace

Follow News & Successes

Open Letter to the Prime Minister on Syria

added January 26th, 2016
CF-188 Hornet during Operation Impact, February 2015 (photo by Canadian Forces Combat Camera, DND)

CF-188 Hornet during Operation Impact, February 2015 (photo by Canadian Forces Combat Camera, DND)

Open Letter to Prime Minister Trudeau:

As Canadians contemplate peace and goodwill, we in the Canadian Peace Initiative urge you to stay the course on ending the combat mission in Iraq and Syria, despite the mounting pressure to maintain it. In our view, you are the first global leader involved in this conflict who has indicated that bombing is the wrong choice to end the war and bring the peace. You stand with former President Arias of Costa Rica, who won the Nobel Prize for Peace for his role in ending conflicts in Central America by negotiated outcomes without the use of force.

Although Canada is lauded by our allies for playing a part in repelling ISIL’s recent attack on Erbil, the main conclusion from that battle is that ISIL is able to mount such attacks, when it is claimed that it has been contained. Clearly, that is not the case.

The Canadian emphasis on those displaced by the war, through our humanitarian work to resettle 25,000 refugees in Canada, is a right and just response to their plight. Canada could certainly take more, but this is an outstanding beginning.

A negotiated outcome is being sought for Syria, as evidenced by the UN Security Council resolution on this issue. Now that your government has encouraged our diplomats in the field to act once again, there is an opportunity for Canada’s outstanding historic role in peace diplomacy to be reaffirmed in this most difficult, but not intractable, conflict. Since the first principle of any negotiation is that all parties to a conflict be at the table, negotiations will necessarily have to include ISIL.

Certainly, we do agree that ISIL carries out terrorist acts. However, it should be acknowledged that many see the actions of Western governments in a similar light, from the use of depleted uranium weaponry, to the “indiscriminate” use of drones (the term repeatedly used by UN High Commissioner for Human Rights), to the 2003 invasion of Iraq (in violation of the UN Charter).

Violence will not secure a positive outcome to the conflict. Only a ceasefire, followed by a UN peacekeeping force adequately resourced and with a sufficiently robust mandate, will lead to successful negotiations.

We appeal to you to present Canada to the world as a nation with an independent foreign policy, dedicated to peace diplomacy, within the framework of the UN and other multilateral, non-military structures.

Dr. Saul Arbess, Co-founder and Director,
Canadian Peace Initiative

Open Letter Welcoming Justin Trudeau

added November 3rd, 2015
adapted from a photo by W. Lloyd MacKenzie, via Flickr

adapted from a photo by W. Lloyd MacKenzie, via Flickr

Dear Prime Minister Trudeau,

The Canadian Peace Initiative warmly congratulates you on the success of the recent election. We are delighted that, in your initial conversation with President Obama, you indicated your intent to end Canada’s combat mission against ISIL. Over the last ten years we have been very concerned by the move that Canada has taken, away from its traditional commitment to peacekeeping and peace diplomacy, to a belligerent role on the world stage.

There is currently no strategic focus for peace in government, and there has rarely been a greater urgency or a better window of opportunity to consider the creation of a Department of Peace in our country. This is one of the principle aims of the Canadian Peace Initiative. We see that Canada has an important role to play in the prevention of violence and the resolution of conflicts at home and abroad. Bill C-373, An Act to Establish a Department of Peace, passed First Reading in the House of Commons on November 30, 2011, and we have been diligently working on advancing it to Second Reading.

We recall your father’s courageous peace initiative, embarked on in 1983, when he said, “it is essential in my judgment to seek stability at a number of points along the downward trend line and to recognize that peace and security in the modern age are indivisible.” The Canadian Institute for International Peace and Security (1984-93) was established as a legacy of that initiative, by a unanimous vote of Parliament.

We feel confident that your vision for the country will include an expanded Canadian peace initiative. In the words of Nobel Peace Prize recipient and former Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson, “Of all our dreams today there is none more important – or so hard to realize – than that of peace in the world. May we never lose our faith in it or our resolve to do everything that can be done to convert it one day into reality.”

As you develop policy to reinvigorate peace building as a primary goal of Canada’s government, we would like to work with you.

In peace,
Furquan Gehlen and Christopher Cutler,
National Co-chairs, Canadian Peace Initiative

2015 Election Parties and Peacebuilding

added October 10th, 2015

The Canadian Peace Initiative is a non-partisan organization, interested in working with any party to increase federal peace-building capacities, in particular through establishing a federal Department of Peace.

To help voters in this 2015 Federal Election, we have summarized statements of four major parties:

Openly supportive & active The NDP have twice introduced Private Members Bills specifically for the creation of a federal Department of Peace. They proclaim in their current plan they will work “to earn a Canadian seat at the United Nations Security Council – an important step in rebuilding Canada’s role as a leader in democratic development, peacekeeping and peacebuilding.”

Openly supportive & active In the Green Party‘s vision statement, section 5.1, they pronounce their intent to “Create a Department of Peace and Security”. In 2011, Green Party leader Elizabeth May Seconded Bill C-373, an Act to Establish the Department of Peace.

Unknown  The Liberal Party states on their website that they “will contribute more to the United Nations’ mediation, conflict-prevention, and post-conflict reconstruction efforts,” but we do not yet have specific statements for establishing a Department of Peace.

Opposed  The Conservative Party‘s Hon. Jason Kenney (Minister of Defence) recently described in The Hill Times (reiterated on his website) that they are focused on increasing military capabilities. He opposed the Department of Peace concept, stating that “Instead of working with us to improve defence, the NDP co-sponsored a bill not long ago to create more bureaucracy with a ‘Department of Peace’?”